A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Last day of winter?

Very heavy frost overnight gave a crisp whiteness this morning in the gardens and the birds were keen to get to the feeders - even in our garden. We have had so little cold weather that they have showed limited interest in ours but our neighbour, seen here from our bedroom window, reliably puts food out every day for birds big and small.

The pigeons line up on his roof to wait for the days' offerings and the other bigger birds feed from the paths and lawn. It is here that we sometimes see Jays and the smaller birds use the feeders. (It was so cold this morning that we had Goldfinches on our feeders too, which has been almost a rarity this winter)

I'm not sure I accept the Meteorological spring as opposed to the equinox on the 21st but it is first of March tomorrow and I have been to get some new, lighter weight walking trousers this morning. I wanted some with pockets now I have Map My Walk on my phone and it is handy to have pockets for keys, money etc when I'm not going far enough to warrant a back pack.

Found what I wanted but got home to find I have left my debit card in the machine!
It's not exactly on the doorstep so another trek out this afternoon to retrieve it.

Nice day now but I'm not convinced winter has finished with us yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.