a town called E.

By Eej

The Return of the Bleep-Bleeps

The 2012/13 irruption of the red-breasted nuthatch and my deep and unbridled love for them has been well documented in my Blips. It's one of two birds (I think) I was able to add to last year's the Blip Big Year.

This year there was no irruption. No little bleep-bleeps greeting me when I walked up to fill the feeders. I kind of missed them, but was happy they apparently had enough food 'oop north' to keep them there.
Imagine my surprise and (I won't lie) utter delight when this afternoon I heard a familiar sound as I was hanging out with the Percies - and then, as I was twisting my neck like I was watching a tennis-match, there they were; 2 of them.
I squealed.
Brazen as ever, they calmly picked out the biggest peanuts they could find and were completely indifferent to me.
Gosh.
What a wonderful day :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.