SO - IS LENT ALL ABOUT GIVING THINGS UP?

I know it's Shrove Tuesday and tomorrow is the beginning of Lent but I have very rarely, if ever, given anything up for Lent - although I know a lot of people do, and if that is what they want to do, all well and good.

However, I have decided instead to do a good deed each day and started today in M&S in Bournemouth. I went in to buy some goodies for our Wedding Anniversary on Thursday and was chatting to a lovely lady next to the desserts.

We finished our chat, I went off to pay and then I saw the daffodils, so I decided to buy a bunch and then look around for the lady, which I did. I soon found her and told her about my plan for Lent and said I would like her to have the daffodils.

She wiped a year from her eye and said no-one had ever done that before - she went on to say she was having a cataract operation on Thursday so I told her she would be on my prayer list.

I asked if I could take a photograph for my blip and although she was a little hesitant at first, she did agree in the end. We introduced ourselves - so here is Doreen, taken by Maureen - it doesn't take much to show God's love, does it?

“The best use of life is love.
The best expression of love is time.
The best time to love is now.”
Rick Warren

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.