One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

O, the craic was mighty

in the Dún Laoghaire shopping centre.

Two men and their dog. None of them going anywhere any time soon.
Life in the fast lane, etc.

A note of explanation on yesterday's blip:
Following a number of telephone calls from the local Social Worker (I don't usually pick up, Mimi does this for us and has been instructed to say "Mum and Dad are fighting right now, they can't come to the phone"), I thought that I'd provide a bit of background to yesterday's shot.
A lot of you must have been shocked at how distressed the child looks. He does indeed. He is particularly gifted at looking distressed. But he cannot usually sustain that level of intensity in his acting for more than 15 to 20 seconds. Speed is of the essence and I have barely enough time to grab my camera, let alone dry his crocodile tears.
There was another "incident" a few minutes later, when a savage gust of wind toppled the double buggy over, throwing Mimi to the ground (Finnzy was better strapped and laughed it off as a new game invented by his eccentric parents). What I did was rush to her (Mrs Raheny beat me to it) to comfort her. I did not for a second entertain the idea of blipping it as she was really upset and I was afraid for her.
I have not turned into a monster for the sake of blipping.



Not just yet.

(It's a pity I rushed to her rescue though, I'm sure that I could have captured a heart-breaking image reminiscent of the strongest scene in the Battleship Potemkin)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.