Chimney

What a beautiful day, today! Not a cloud in the sky, and so warm we could sit out in just a tee shirt!

So why did I spend most of the day indoors, in a darkened room?

I was attending the Print championship run by the East Anglian Federation (part of the Photographic Alliance of Great Britain). 24 clubs competing for the EAF trophy and for the right to enter the national PAGB championship. As print secretary for my club, I arranged our entry and I was the club's representative today at Fulbourn (near Cambridge) where the event was run. It was very efficiently run, too: congratulations to the team responsible.

Each club had to submit 25 prints. After the first 15 from each club had been judged, the clubs with the 10 highest scores went through to the second round, where their remaining 10 prints were judged. Unfortunately, we missed out on the top 10 by just one point! However, it was an enjoyable day, meeting a number of old friends and talking to a number of people I hadn't met before. Generally our entry was well received - one image receiving a "Highly Commended" (sadly, not mine - but I was happy with my scores).

With all this, I had very little opportunity to get out and take photographs. This shot of a rooftop in the village was taken in the morning after I had handed in our prints, and before the main event started. The roof belongs to a house called "The Old House". No marks for originality with that name.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.