A time for everything

By turnx3

A "host" of daffodils

Sunday
These daffodils are lining the street across from our church, and were a lovely picture, especially under the beautiful blue skies and sunshine. Whenever I see a mass of daffodils like this, I am reminded of Wordsworth's famous poem,

I wandered lonely as a cloud
that floats on high o'er vales and hills
When all at once I saw a crowd,
A host of golden daffodils;
Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.


This poem, in turn, reminds me of my Dad, who loved literature and poetry and could still recite long verses of Shakespeare and poetry well into his old age - he was almost 96 when he died. I was also reminded of Dad at breakfast time when we were listening to Sunday Worship on Radio 4, which today was coming from Lichfield Cathedral, the town where my Dad went to grammar school. My Dad was also a keen gardener,and on a day like today he would certainly have been out busy in the garden, though probably not on a Sunday! I miss you Dad!

After lunch, we got out to enjoy the beautiful afternoon, putting our bikes on the back of the car, and heading out to the other side of Fontainebleau for my first bike ride of the season - Roger had a couple of short evening rides earlier this week. I suggested going over to the other side of Fontainebleau as it is flatter over there, which I thought would be kinder on me! We started in the village of Arbonne, then headed to the lovely village of Courances, which has a beautiful chateau, then on through the villages of Cely-en-Biere and Fleury-en-Biere and back to Arbonne, which made for a loop of about 14 miles, which my backside told me was quite enough for today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.