Capital adventures

By marchmont

Cousins

2 cousins today - half a century apart.

A TOIL day and a morning with N before she headed off to Glasgow. She is my 4th cousin. Her great grandfather was my maternal great grandmother's younger brother. He married a woman from Arras after WW1 and now I have 20+ French cousins. N was off to GMI in Paisley. I visited that company in September 2011 - small world. She is also meeting up with MY cousin tonight. She'll back for the wedding in September. She is 50 in 10 days.

After seeing her off at Waverley I did a wee bit shopping for KL and spotted my first moving trams, whoo hoo. They seem to cause quite a lot of traffic hold ups around the Jenner's junction. I fancy I saw a few frustrated taxi drivers.

Then to the Dome to meet cousin #2, W my first cousin once removed, my father's cousin. Coffee, cake and a glass of wine and a lot of chat about family and the old times. He was 100 3 weeks ago, born February 1914. He still lives on his own in the 3rd floor flat he's stayed in since 1952. He finally retired as a clerk of works 23 years ago and has 4 sons, 3 granddaughters, 3 grandsons and a great grandchild due in June.

It was a lovely afternoon, spent with an amazing relative, and we came out into spring sunshine on George Street.

Some work to catch up on tonight, but at least I can do it watching tv.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.