carliewired

By carliewired

Last Looks

Larry poises in
all his dragon-ness glory.
One last parting glance.

~ carliewired

There's a myriad of little jobs to do today. The goal is to be ready for departure after breakfast tomorrow. Shutting the house up is never a happy job for me. I have as much enthusiasm for it as I do for clearing away Christmas decorations. But, the party is over and it's time to head for home.

As we were getting in the truck, Larry, our resident lizard, popped up on top of his little lizard castle of rocks. He watched us watching him. I hope his lizard castle will keep him safe through the long, hot months of summer.

The last of my postcrossing postcards went out today. The mailman must have been surprised to see 35 postcards waiting for him. No sooner did he drive by then D removed the mailbox and brought it into the house. It will wait under my desk for our return in the fall. Any mail arriving as of tomorrow will be forwarded to the office in Canada.

I couldn't stall any longer. I gave my letter of resignation to the president of our national board of directors this morning in an email. He does not want to accept it and said he'd hang on to it until Monday, in hopes I'd change my mind. I know I will feel the same way on Monday. It is time for me to close the door on that involvement. I'm done. I feel some peace now that I've finally made it known.

The last loads of laundry are done. It has been a warm, sunny day with the temperature rising to 87 degrees Fahrenheit. There's a lovely breeze. The first load was dry by the time load three came out of the washer. I never understand why anyone here needs an electric dryer.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.