BETWEEN MADESTEIN AND THE UITHOF

there is a meadow, not really big, and not really small. Between wires all around since some time there live sheep, many sheep indeed. I watch them and see all kinds of scenes. There are sheep that keep quiet, eat the grass, standing or lying, or on their knees. And then there is a gang that runs from one corner to the other and back, and they start all over again. It seems one takes the lead and it looks funny.
I cannot discern why they are doing it.
There are quite a few sand hills in the midst of the meadow. Sheep love to stand upon them. They stand still, or ly down, or what sometimes occurs, they run very fast to the top, hardly stand there for one moment and off they go down. As soon as they are down, they turn and run back. They tumble over each other, so eager they are to be the first to arrive.
But what I love most to see is this pair that I show in the picture.
I have a series of them, two heads so close together and cherishing each other.
Their world is small but they do not mind.

My haiku:

If my head itches
I dare to come close to you
Please give me relief

And the proverb:

Die zich zelven honing maakt, wordt van de bijen opgegeten.

Translation: Who makes him/herself of honey, will be eaten by the bees.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.