Beautiful Day

Just me and Mr K today, what a treat!
What luxury to wake up in a big comfy bed without children clambering into it at 6am!
I didn't have the best night - overindulgence and the beginnings of a cold - but never mind, it was bliss to laze around in bed watching TV, drinking tea and eating chocolates knowing we didn't have to get up for anything!
We did eventually get up and walk into town. Enjoying more glorious sunshine!
We went and had breakfast in Café Rouge because it's free with Tescos vouchers and we're cheapskates
Very odd service of our tea. I ordered decaf and Mr K ordered Earl Grey. We got a giant pot of boiling water, two cups and a plate with two teabags on it. One was Earl Grey and one was something unspeakable!
It was so odd - all that water and two teabags on a plate!!
But breakfast was tasty and free and set us up nicely for a day of wandering around beautiful Stratford in the gorgeous sunshine.
We went to a couple of the Shakespeare houses and especially enjoyed the gardens, we went and saw his grave in the church, walked along the river, had a peek inside the theatre and then lay on the grass by the river for an hour or so. I could hardly keep my eyes open!!
Mr K queued heroically for fish and chips which perked me up!
There was just time to pop into Pandora for me to choose a charm for my lovely bracelet and then a visit to the house that Shakespeare was born in. It was surprisingly moving to stand in the actual room where it all started.
Naturally they were closing up by the time we left. We do like to squeeze every last minute of enjoyment out of our days out!!
I had seized up completely by the time we got back to Bicester to collect the Little Misses and nursing a full blown stinking cold and incredibly tired.....
But happy! What a bloody brilliant time we had.
I couldn't have asked for a better birthday weekend.

Backblip here of yesterday's festivities.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.