40th Birthday!!

Well the day finally dawned! My fortieth birthday!!!
And what a wonderful day I've had. Perfect!
Mr K leapt out of bed at an ungodly hour so that I wasn't disturbed and a bit later he came in with the Little Misses. All bearing gifts and singing Happy Birthday!
I got tea, a banana (from Miss L!), lovely cards, beautiful tulips, anti wrinkle face and eye cream!! and a very special Pandora bracelet with three charms chosen by the Little Misses and Mr K. I love it!!
We met my mum and dad at Coughton Court, a National Trust property near Stratford-upon-Avon, and had hours of walking, running, mad gymnastics, climbing towers, finding hidden priest's holes, eating cake, drinking tea, picnicking, flying kites, watching newborn lambs, making wishes in fountains, carrying out covert spy operations throughout the house, having lots of rides on Daddy and Papa's shoulders (The Little Misses, not Mum and me!!!).
As usual we were practically the last to leave. What a special day with my family. Beautiful place, beautiful weather. Fab!
Nana and Papa took the Little Misses home and Mr K and I headed into Stratford-upon-Avon for a night away.
I'd booked a Premier Inn as I knew we'd hardly be in the hotel and anything swankier would be a waste of money. I was a bit upset on arrival because the promised "canal view" turned out to be a view over the canal to crappy ugly industrial units and car parks. Seriously, Tripadvisor made it sound like Venice!!!!
But the enormous orchid and chocolates in the room from the lovely Miss T brought a smile back to my face. Thank you Miss T!!!
We got changed and headed out for dinner which was in a lovely bistro in town. Pea and scallop risotto followed by pollock and crushed garlic potatoes for me, haddock ravioli followed by steak for Mr K. Yummy.
I could only manage a peppermint tea after that lot but my greedy husband managed a chocolate pudding and an unpronounceable single malt. I don't know where he puts it!!
Then it was back to the hotel to be winched into bed.
And wish that I'd bought some Andrews.
Because I am now officially middle aged and I need it!

I had a truly wonderful birthday with my gorgeous husband and family. I'm a lucky woman.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.