creative lenna

By creativelenna

mono monday: water

hobbs is graciously hosting "mono monday" for us again. Click on his name to check out this week's participants in the challenge. Hobbs often shares excellently crafted mono photos with us. I am joining in often so I can get more practice! Mono or monochrome, meaning: a painting, drawing, or photograph in a single hue is not usually how I approach photography but I am really gaining a greater appreciation of it through this challenge.

We have had thunderstorms, tornado watches and severe thunderstorm warnings here in Florida today but it seems to see settling down now. The severe thunderstorm watch is over but it is still raining. I got out to one appointment, a dr's check up this morning when the weather was okay, but cancelled my afternoon appointment for a massage which was too bad, but just as well. I would not have enjoyed being out in the wind, rain, thunder & lightning and Asia needed me here! She does not like the noise and needs to be close. We have even gotten her a "Thunder vest" which has helped some.

Anyway, this weather made it easy for me RE: hobb's theme of WATER. I stood on my porch and snapped away with various settings at the rain coming down off the roof. Then I brought some photos into PS Elements and used a few layered together. The settings you see on blip are for the bottom background layer which is not as apparent as some of the top layers where the water is actually flowing... Those were taken with s/s 1/1000, ISO 800 and s/s 1/400, ISO 400. I do not really know what I am doing as far as photographing water at all - I simply try a lot of different variables in order to teach myself what will work okay for movement like that!

It was fun, I am learning, I like trying new things - thank you hobbs!!!!
My 1000 entry is coming up in a few days , this will make 997 . . . . I've decided I will try not to worry about what I do for that day as far as my journal is concerned! Thanks for being here.

Each day is a new life. Seize it. Live it.
~ David Guy Powers


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.