creative lenna

By creativelenna

a hooded warbler

It really took me by surprise to come upon this tiny little bird I had never seen before when walking back to my car yesterday. I had just taken about 75 photos of water in various forms at Coquina Beach, Longboat Key Pass, but you can be sure I took at least a dozen more of this guy!

Hooded Warbler: A small bird, 13cm or about 5 inches -This bird is considered a New World Warbler. It only lives in the New World, North America, Canada. When I learned this I thought it might be most interesting to my blip friends; many of you live in the Old World! Wikipedia says that these hooded warblers are not closely related to Australian warbler. Anyway, he was so distinctive, very cute and he let me follow him around taking many photos of him. I had to get a good photo so I could identify him, but it turns out Steven had been reading the Florida Bird Books: Their Stories by W. Williams and when I described what I saw he thought he had seen one in the books -yes!
That was fun. A new discovery.

After doing hobb's Mono Monday water challenge I wanted more experience photographing water as I did find it a challenge! I had a most interesting time photographing water and put a selection of photos up here -you might see something of interest if you have time. It shows my settings as well if you choose an individual photo like this and click on the information button under the comments. Thanks. Any comments are most welcome!

One of the advantages of being disorderly is that one is constantly making exciting discoveries.
~ A. A. Milne

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.