The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Hamish McRadish

Ok, ok, this is supposed to be a photography site... the annoying headache was still there when I woke up. I took a Sinex pill, which did not help much, but by evening the pain had more or less gone. I have decided not to eat any wheat at all (for the moment), to see if it helps.

I also decided to take it easy, in case the headache was being caused by lack of sleep and too much racing around. So I did not blip, but baked a batch of gluten-free chocolate and pecan biscuits, then took some of them down the road to my neighbour Karen's to watch Pointless with her. Then her daughter rang from town to say she'd bought a bunch of radishes! Karen found this to be quite random, as she doesn't like radishes, and didn't think her daughter did either. When she turned up with them, and said she'd bought them 'because they look so nice' my heart went out to her. As a child, I remember loving the look of freshly-peeled bananas, yet I could never bring myself to enjoy the taste or the texture.

In the end, I offered to take them home with me to photograph. (I also got a Pointless answer in the final, which was about films by directors called Ken/Kenneth). But because the light was not good, I ended up messing around with reflected effects. So, Ladies and Gentlemen, I bring you Hamish McRadish. It will be my nephew Hamish's 12th birthday soon, as it indeed it was for the little boy at school I have the most contact with. Happy birthday to all 12 year olds everywhere!

PS the radishes were delicious, and I have been eating them ever since, even for breakfast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.