bucks life

By bucksmiss

A few of my favourite things....

This series of books about a boy nicknamed Bunkle were my father's favourites when he was a boy in the '40s and '50s. He then read them all to us children when we were young as bedtimes stories. The adventures of Bunkle and his older brother and sister, Robin and Jill, who found him quite exasperating at times, were wonderful tales of 'derring do' often chasing spies and crooks and frequently getting them into danger. But their father, who is in the secret service often came to their rescue. These are my favourite books in all the world and always will be. The best two are 'Four Plus Bunkle' set on the ski slopes of Switzerland and 'Bunkle Butts In' where they find a secret passage in the cellar of Marsh House and Bunkle has his very own 'muck room'.

I was awoken by a phone call at 1.47am today. My lodger was outside having driven down from his home during the night without forewarning me and I'd bolted him out. Hmmm.

Work was fine, topped off by a meeting at the factory in Towcester of one of my clients which I always enjoy. They're so appreciative and let me get on with things without too much fuss. My kind of client.

I had a mad dash to the head shrink and managed to be only a minute late. Good going. It's sometimes good to have an excuse to put my foot down and give the engine a decent run. I talked about some recent tricky conversations with various family members and it was a good session.

I was rather drained after and admit to an hour's lie down when I got home, listening to 'Just a Minute' and some of the 'Archers' (I dropped off mid way through!). I was going to have a reasonably early night but it seems to have got to 10.50pm somehow....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.