Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Family visiting

Today I took Mum to Sunderland. We started with a visit to my cousin, Margaret, who has just started yet another course of chemotheraphy. She had arranged for her younger brother, Ian and his wife, Vera, to come along as a surprise. I don't think I have seen them for over 30 years. Lots of catching up to do and hearing about all their children and grandchildren.

After lunch we went to see Joyce, Mum's cousin, in her nursing home. Some of you will remember that last year we were visiting Joyce and her husband Ernie in hospital. After he died there were a few difficult months while Social Services tried to support Joyce at home. I'll just try to avoid saying "I told them so"! Joyce looks so much better now and is enjoying all the activities the nursing home has on offer.

Her main problem is dementia. She attempts to cover up her memory loss with all sorts of little tricks. Although she looks quite well in this image, I think you can tell by her eyes that the world bewilders her.

PS I do wish that nursing homes could prevent the place stinking to high heaven of stale urine. I suppose the residents don't notice it after a while, but it was particularly bad today. A problem that is rarely solved in such establishments. Sigh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.