Mikey88

By Mikey88

Blue

I had an afternoon in the garden after the shopping trip during the morning. Just a weeding session in the bed in front of the shed. It's the bed underneath one of the bird feeders, so there was a layer of husks and discarded seeds to get through at one point. There were all sorts of interesting grasses growing in this part and they were quite difficult to get out, but I have a heavy duty weeding tool which did the job.

Colour is gradually spreading through the garden. The quince at the far end is flowering with bright red flowers, the flame plant has its red leaf tips and cream flowers hanging down, the grape hyacinths are opening all over the garden and these two blue flowers have suddenly appeared. We have no idea what they are and can only assume they have grown from one of the seeds dropped by the birds.

I trapped yet another mouse last night. That's now the fourth one. We must have a bit of an infestation. It's strange that there are so many, but there hasn't been any sign of them until I saw one early last week. No food nibbled, no mouse poo anywhere, just mice in the trap every time I set it. I think the one I caught last night was a young one - it didn't seem as big as the others as I tipped it out over the wall. I'll see how we get on tonight.

Hope you have remembered to put your clocks forward. It will be great to have the long evenings again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.