Capital adventures

By marchmont

Mother's Day Moth Orchid

A second day with no swim, just too tired. And another horrible day. Liberton Kirk has barely appeared about the thick misty low cloud. And it's cold, that dank, damp cold. I got up as #2 son arrived back. He had had a great night last night at 'West side Story'. I wish I'd gone there. 'Maria, I just met a girl called Maria'. 'Union' was a game of two halves and the second half was far too long and disjointed. I was glad to be released at 10.30.

But back to today. A card from #3 son and a card and chocolates and a moth orchid from #2. I don't have a good track record with orchids a neighbour in Montgaillard gave me one which I killed by neglect, or too much love, not sure which. This morning I treated myself to croissants, apricot jam and real coffee. Not quite La G (which I've legally owned for 7 years today) but as close as I could get from Margiotta.

I wrote up Thursday's minute and then I went to see MY mother, with a very small card. Not for lunch or cake and coffee or a lovely outing somewhere, but to go to Tesco at Colinton Mains. It just makes me so grumpy, this 4/5 weekly 'big shop' that I'm locked into and which results in squeezing loads of heavy bags into a small car and carrying them up the stairs. I disappointed her too by saying there will be no runs in the car for at least the next 6 weeks while I'm away. But I bought her chocolates and daffs, so beautifully wrapped in a Tesco bag. We got home to find granddaughter, en route home to 'the toon' had been in past with flowers from #2 daughter. My offer to change the lightbulb was turned down but I did scan some documents for dad.

I've also treated myself to gin, not a premium branded bottle,as I'm planning to buy some Pickerings from Summerhall, but a premium Tesco own brand, if that's not tautology. It may be Edinburgh Gin, similar bottle and strength.

So tonight I'll make my mother's day meal - a g&t, duck and asparagus and rhubarb in filo with cream.

Looking out I realise the weather is deteriorating and I can hardly see the houses over the back because of the increasing mist/low cloud so there will be no advantage on the extra hour of daylight tonight. Hummph!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.