Season Opener!

The traditional cabbage toss to open the Bellingham Farmers' Market full season today flew perfectly from the hands of Mayor Kelli Linville (left) into the waiting grasp of S, much to the delight of all in attendance. S, one of the "kid vendors" at the market, has sold her beautiful handmade earrings there on the last Saturday of the month for the past eight years.

It was lovely to see so many vendors, both returning and new ones, and people were eager to buy local produce, in particular. I had a big salad of fresh arugula, mustard, and other greens for lunch when I returned home, and plan to have another for supper!

Tulips are coming in strong now, and I'm showing great restraint by sharing only one tulip image, as it would be so easy to make every other blip this month a tulip one.

I've spent the afternoon editing the 230 photos I took this morning down to the 34 best ones, and after I email them to the market director, I'll be focusing on preparations for a day trip I'm doing tomorrow. I'll be gone for 12 hours, so I'll catch up with you on Monday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.