Seasons of change.

Since the thunder storm we had on Sunday afternoon, the garden has changed. On Sunday morning the trees had been filled by the sounds of twittering birds. A constant stream of every variety of bird who visit my garden turned up for a meal.

Just as the sounds of the storm approached, the sounds of the birds disappeared. The wind howled through the trees all Sunday afternoon. It continued through all of yesterday.

This morning, the garden felt eerie, without the sound of birdsong. Even the Rainbow Lorikeets have disappeared. When a brave little Butcher Bird arrived, the poor thing looked as if it were trying to balance on the clothesline without falling. I thought its feathers may be blown away into next year!

As much as I am loving the cooler weather, I don't think the birds are enjoying it one little bit, nor do they like the forceful wind.

As the day progressed, a few magpies arrived, one or two Noisy Minors, a Honeyeater or two and finally, this afternoon, about three kookaburras.

I caught a glimpse of one of the grey Butcher Birds, but he didn't hang around for long. The black and white Butcher Bird, which I have chosen for today's blip, hasn't visited since last year, yet here they are (I've seen two today) back again, during this windy weather.

There are more changes in the air than just the weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.