Monet's Garden

We decided we'd like to see a bit of France today before heading back under the sea.
So we packed up early, had an hour's fun in the pool and then set off to Giverny. Our route took us round the Paris Peripherique which was busy and full of nutty French drivers. Mr K coped very well. Especially as the view out of most of the mirrors was blocked by giant Minnie and Winnie balloons!
Miss E was giddy to see the Eifel Tower in real life!
After an hour on the motorway it was amazing to turn off and find ourselves in pretty French villages and driving along blossom lined roads next to fields of cows. So lovely!
I had been looking forward to seeing Monet's garden at Giverny but nothing had prepared me for how spectacular and magical it is!
I have never seen so many beautiful flowers in one place! It was staggering.
The house was beautiful, the lily pond and bridges so familiar, the colour, the scents, the poultry with mad hair-do's!
The Little Misses loved it too. I was worried they'd be bored but they so enjoyed it. Miss E particularly - she had my camera around my neck and took hundreds of photos of flowers (she is her mother's daughter!) and kept squealing with delight at every new discovery.
Marvellous!!
We had a wonderful couple of hours and then squeezed ourselves back in the car with the balloons and headed off to Calais.
The journey back was mostly uneventful. A closed road and stressful detour in Rouen, a 90mph dash to make sure we made the train, traffic, traffic and more traffic on the M25 and overshooting our house to go to Tescos to get milk and chicken drumsticks.
I was ready for my bed!

Thank you for the good wishes on my 1000th Blip yesterday. I hadn't realised it was a milestone Blip!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.