Paris to Sancerre...

Well today was a steep learning curve. Having never done anything like this before we learnt a lot today. We had to repack the trailer before we left the hotel and that took more time than we had allowed.

We'd arranged to meet the boys in Fontainebleau for their first stop. It was a bit of an adventure getting out of Paris, the traffic is constantly stopping and starting so it knocked our timing out. We got to the right place and tried to find somewhere to park and find a supermarket. Our first mistake. There are no supermarkets in the towns. They all seem to be on the outskirts off pretty major roads so finding something for the boys to eat was a bit fraught. We'd walked right through the town and they had every kind of shop, there are a lot of bakers but they simply sell bread and cakes, nothing to go with the bread. When they arrived we were right up the other end of the town. Fail! Cafe it is then!

We got out of there and went on to Montargis... again nowhere in the town centre to park and with a trailer attached it's a little tricky to manoeuvre round the little side streets. A bit like trying to park a bus in Rose Street. We'd stopped in a supermarket car park just outside the town but they'd missed us. They go much faster than we'd imagined, I think the Fat Dad's On Bikes title is soon to be forgotten and replaced with Fit Dad's On Bikes. The scenery is fabulous here and I think I might be a little bit in love with French France, although their internet service is seriously lacking, I can't find much else wrong the place. This was taken from the car, while it was moving but I'm so tired now I can't see if it's blurred and I can't be arsed editing anything so I'm afraid you'll have to make do. I have no idea what day it is.

So they were fed and watered and we went on towards Sancerre after nice car boss decided to tell me he has an app on his phone which lets me track him from afar. It's frickin awesome... well it is when my phone works. EE apparently stands for Everything Everywhere... until you're abroad and need help and then it's Nothing Nowhere. Stress levels increasing by the second!!

French drivers have an aversion to indicators so there have been a few choice words along the way. Ary is having too much fun driving so I've just let him get on with it. We made it to Saint-Pere where our B&B awaited... it was late though so the boys came in and had a cold shower and their recovery drinks and we made our way out for dinner. Ary had decided to skip dinner in favour of a run... I chose dinner obviously but Ary hadn't taken keys to get back in and the owner of the place wasn't for leaving the door unlocked for him so I sent the boys off and opted for a lovely long shower. After I'd done the washing... by hand. Not sure how I managed to rope myself into washing their smalls but it seems I've set a prescident. Stupid arse.

Anyway... the shower was fabulous and after what turned into an 18 hour day, I was glad of the Hansel & Gretel style rooms, the massive bed and the silence. Long day but the boys did well. The fundraising is going incredibly well but you can still donate if you'd like. Either to their page or to mine... the dosh all goes to the same place so make our long days and hard runs worthwhile if you can. Merci!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.