THE ARTIST AT WORK

Mr. HCB and I are staying with a blipper and her husband in Somerset for the weekend and having a great time. They took us to Dunster for the day today and we had a great time. Unfortunately, the weather wasn't brilliant so the outdoor shots aren't that good, but as we were walking down from the castle, I saw a little studio owned by David Deakins. I went in because I could see someone working in there and it transpired it was actually David Deakins.

I watched him mixing paint using a palette knife and then put it onto the canvas - a commission, he told me, of an old bridge.

Not being an artist myself, he was very interesting to watch and being me, I asked lots of questions. I asked if everyone who painted with oils used a palette knife, and he told me that his father had used one and he had copied him, but a brush could be used and often was.

I asked if I could take a photograph, explained about blipping and asked if he would mind being my blip for the day. He said that any publicity was good, so have a look here at his website.

Sadly we couldn't afford £295 for one of his paintings, but Mr. HCB did buy a card showing the same painting for £2.50 - wonder if he will mind me using it for his birthday card next week - not often a person buys their own birthday card, is it?

“The object of art is not to reproduce reality,
but to create a reality of the same intensity.”
Alberto Giacometti


Thank you to all of you who sent good wishes for the funeral yesterday - it was a wonderful service and a great tribute to a lovely lady.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.