DIDN'T WE HAVE A LOVELY TIME.....

….the weekend we went to Stogumber!!

We arrived home this evening after a super weekend spent in Stogumber, which is a picturesque village nestled in a valley between the Quantock and Brendon Hills in Somerset, with Angelique, a blipper friend and her husband. As this was a sort of "blip meet" I thought we ought to have a photograph of us - so the top one shows Mr. A holding Phoebe, Angelique and me and the bottom one shows Mr. HCB with our host and hostess.

S & G made us so welcome and there was a lot of fun and laughter. After our day in Dunster yesterday, we went home and our host and hostess treated us to a wonderful concert of songs, with Mrs. A singing beautifully and Mr. A accompanying her on the guitar. What a talented couple and it was much better than watching the television - BGT watch out!!

Today's weather was completely different with wonderful blue skies and sunshine, so we went on a lovely walk around Stogumber, starting at the Beacon Field, meandering through the lanes, valleys and orchards, but the highlight was seeing a train pulled by a steam engine - we all stood and waved to the passengers and lots of them waved back. Mr. HCB was particularly pleased because the engine was a Great Western "Hall" Class. After that we went to the station and saw another train but that engine wasn't quite so spectacular, according to Mr. HCB - I couldn't see much difference myself!!

Of course, there were many other wonderful moments too - I never thought when I started blipping that I would have made so many new friends.

Thank you S & G - you were the perfect host and hostess, the company was fantastic, the food wonderful, the Pimms in the garden was a real treat and of course, it was great to meet Phoebe, Sassy and Jazz - just a shame that the cats made me sneeze so much! We miss you already and hope you miss us, just a little!

I cannot even imagine where I would be today
were it not for that handful of friends
who have given me a heart full of joy.
Let's face it, friends make life a lot more fun.
Charles R. Swindoll


Thank you for all your kind comments on my blip yesterday of The Artist at Work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.