Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

"Hey Babe!"

Him (right): Whatch doin', cutie?
Her (left): Eating. As you can plainly see.
Him: Any big plans for the summer?
Her: You dolt! You know that every summer I raise a bunch of little 'peckers.
Him: Ahem. Well, I've been meaning to talk to you about that...
Her: Waiting...
Him: (shuffling feet, anxiously) Well, how about you and me... you know?
Her: First, you've got to spruce up the apartment and do a bit of renovating. Then we can talk...

It's that time of year when the woodpeckers are getting ready to nest. The pairs are hanging close together now and occasional spats break out between the males if one looks at the Missus the wrong way. During the winter, I never see a pair sharing a feeder like this - although as you can see from their raised crests, they are both a bit alarmed. It made me smile, though...

My D600 arrived back from Nikon today with a clean sensor and a few minor repairs. I immediately snapped Big Daddy on it and took a few quick pics from the back door, including this one. It's pouring rain at the moment, so I am staying inside and sorting/de-cluttering. Temps are dropping tonight and forecast calls for ... wait for it ... SNOW showers! YUCK. Well, at least nothing is likely to accumulate. Still, it seems like a bit much after the dreadful winter we've had.

Happy Tuesday...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.