Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Gotcha!

I was feeling pretty uninspired, photographically, today.  I think it's safe to say that I got rather spoiled in Florida where it is pretty easy to catch big birds doing interesting things.  It's a bit harder with my flitty little NJ backyard birds.  However, I did manage to get a couple of interesting shots today.  

I decided to go with this one because I have never been able to get a shot catching the tongue of the Downy Woodpecker out like this.  So, while it is not an especially sharp photo, I think it is interesting enough for today's Blip.  This little guy was on the pine trees next to our deck, busy getting little goodies to eat.  And in case you are wondering about the freaky looking eye - that is his nicitating membrane, the third protective membrane on his eye.  

The other three shots that I felt pretty good about today are posted starting here with a jumping sparrow.  It would probably be my second choice today just for the humor factor.  

The prescription ibuprofin seems to be helping.  I can take up to 4 pills a day but only took two yesterday and have taken two today.  It isn't a cure, but until I can find out what is going on, it allows me to do the things I want without being in a lot of pain.  Good enough for me.  

Two more sleeps until Savannah - and now the weather forecast for Saturday looks good.  We'll have to wait and see about Sunday, I guess.  We'll have a great time, no matter the weather!

Today is tax day in the US - I waited until the last possible moment to send our check to the IRS.  I know that our taxes pale in comparison to some parts of the world,  but it galls me how much we pay.  Hmph.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.