Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Morning Serenade

My morning started with a cup of tea and some bill-paying ... routine and rather boring, until I heard the mighty song of the tiny Carolina Wren.  
Although the doors and windows were all closed, there was no mistaking the loud "tea kettle, tea kettle, tea kettle" song that these minuscule birds sing all year long.  Though common throughout the eastern United States, I more frequently hear them than see them.  Today, however, when I looked out, the little songster was on the highest branch of the cherry tree, singing his big song.  From there, he darted to the deck, visiting both the seed and suet feeders and singing loudly from both.

I quietly went out to the deck with Big Daddy (and a fleece against the chilly morning) and snapped away as the little guy flitted from place to place around the deck and yard.  What a lovely way to start the day.  He is seen here perched on one of the branches near the bird feeders.  Somewhere off in the woods, another wren was answering him with his/her own tea kettle song.  I wonder if they were comparing notes on the menu choices?

Two other shots from today starting with an ambitious Titmouse, HERE

I was going to head out for a hike today but decided to give my body a rest since I know we'll be doing lots of walking this weekend in Savannah.  Instead, I am staying close to home, doing a bit of pottering around the yard and catching up on bills, paperwork, etc.  I'm checked in for my flight and Hubs is driving me to the airport bright and early tomorrow morning.  

Next stop... Savannah!

And some seasonal notes on the garden:  the cherry trees have big fat buds on them and I predict they will start to blossom in the next few days; the daffodils are in full bloom and the hyacinth are starting to bloom.  Lots of things coming up in the garden - sedum, bee balm and more.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.