Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Sing it, Tufty!

There is nothing like the sounds of birds singing in the spring as they woo their mates, and defend their territories. Even today, when I awooke to a dusting of snow and temps in the mid-20's (F), the air was still filled with song. I find it very calming and it makes me cherish the gift of hearing. Even though I am deaf in one ear, I can still hear all the amazing sounds of nature around me - I just can't always tell where it's coming from!

So, today's blip is one of the ever-present tufted titmice, singing his heart out. There is much chasing going on between the titmice at the moment - no doubt males trying to defend their nesting territory against other pairs. They zoom through the trees and the yard in hot pursuit of one another, sometimes coming so close to my head that I feel my hair move. Their speed and agility is quite amazing - and it always amazes me that they never hit anything.

I counted nine woodpeckers in the big maple tree next to our deck this afternoon - three pairs of downy woodpeckers and a trio of red-bellied woodpeckers (two males and one female). There have been the same three RB WPs here all winter and the males have gotten along just fine .. but now there is some serious trash-talk going on between them - no doubt determining who gets to stay here with the female, and who has to leave in search of a new territory.

Three other shots from today posted starting here on Flickr...

Isn't nature fascinating?

Hubs will be returning from Fl tomorrow and I can't wait for his return. Big changes ahead for us ...stay tuned.

Happy Hump Day...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.