IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

The Dancing Witch

No. 3 in a series of favourite local trees, the Dancing Witch doesn't look quite as witchy these days as it used to. It used to look far more solid and portly a couple of years back when the thick ivy growing up its trunk was full and leafy; I think someone has cut it back now, possibly to reduce the pressure of the wind on its ancient trunk. Apparently ivy makes a big difference to wind resistance and as to whether or not an old tree will fall during gales.
But I digress. This poor tree has seen better days and appears to be dying, most of its limbs have sheered off and only a small number of branches bear leaves these days. But I always look out for it when I am on the way home from Norwich, once it is in sight I feel I am entering home territory.

Other notable local trees include:
1. The Oak Man, and
2. The Seven Sisters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.