Early morning light...

I was up early today to record the breeding bird transect in Thorpe Wood. A chilly start - I had to scrape the frost off the car, and I think the cold delayed the birds as they seemed to be a lot more vociferous after I'd finished the recording, when I went round a couple more times to do some photography.

The bluebells are just at their peak now, a fortnight earlier than usual. Thorpe Wood is surrounded by housing and roads, but has one of the best displays of this iconic species locally, and a level surfaced path means that everyone can enjoy them without trampling or causing any damage. I photographed lots of other flowers - crab apple, Midland hawthorn, wood sedge and orpine - but this had to be the one - a perfect specimen of a true English bluebell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.