Cloudy with Patches of Sun

First day back at school today for the Little Misses.
We were all very excited about the prospect!
It was their first day in Summer uniform which is good for two reasons: they look cute and getting dressed now only involves knickers, dress, shoes and socks. It's so much easier!
I was feeling all smug that we were up, fed, dressed, washed, coiffed and ready go by 8.20am.
I even sewed a button onto Miss E's dress and mended her ripped pocket with wonder web!
I was feeling less smug when I realised - after a fruitless search - that Miss L's school shoes were in Mr K's car. Where they'd been abandoned on the last day of term. She had to go in with blue flowery sandals on.
So much for first day perfection. Hee hee!!
Once I'd dropped them off I headed to Tescos to finally restock our bare cupboards.
Then I came home to my messy but blissfully quiet house and had a lovely day pottering.
I cooked a batch of chicken curry, a batch of Jamie Oliver's sausage and fennel pasta sauce, I did a half-hearted bit of tidying and then I sat on the sofa, chatting on Facebook, looking at camping accessories, catching up with grown up TV (I wrote adult TV at first and then realised that sounds a bit dodgy!!) and generally had a relaxing, child free day. Lovely!!
Miss E was giddy when I picked her up for gymnastics and let her sit in the front of the car. It was her first time!
I was less giddy about the constant fiddling with the air conditioning and/or heating, and the half serious threats to see what happened if she put the gear stick into R as we were driving along!
I was even less giddy when she dropped her chips all over my pristine new car and then, for good measure, shook sugar from her donut everywhere.
Carrot batons and grapes next week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.