WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

New growth on old wood

We are struggling to adapt to the French lifestyle. That means getting up before 9 a.m. (obligatory this morning as S had an appointment in Carcassonne at 9:30), and eating lunch at 1 o'clock instead of 3 o'clock ... without the option of crossing the road to eat at the chiringuito! While in Spain we'd got into the habit of daily aperitifs at about 8 o'clock, with plenty of nibbles, and a couple of days ago we agreed that this should stop when we got home. So today friends invited us round for a drink after work. Oops! I did manage to get dinner on the table before 9 o'clock though, and I even cooked it myself.

I got frustrated with a work problem in the late afternoon, so I gave up and went out with the camera. Only one subject was available ... yep, vines. My last vine blip was 15 February! The vines are well advanced, certainly compared to last year -- they are already flowering. I like the fresh green leaves against the gnarled old wood; these vines must be at least 50 years old.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.