Bohuntin Hill

It is our Weddding Anniversary today. We had a lovely meal out with friends last night and afterwards at home had some drinks and a wee blether in to the small hours. Apparently C and I demolished, with great pleasure, a large proportion of a bottle of Glen Morangie. I seldom consume that much alcohol yet we woke feeling fine this morning. I still wasn’t driving anywhere though.
I explained to Mrs SJR where I thought would be a good walk for Caley walking from the door. I didn’t sell it well clearly so it was just the yellow boy and me. We went over the top of Maol Ruadh, dropped down and crossed the Bo Loin burn and climbed to the much visited (by us) Upper Inverroy track. We continued to the end of the track and as I had hoped could cross the burn (its as low as I have seen it in ages) and then continued up the valley called Caol Lairig. Following this valley to its water shed would take us very close to the public road at Glen Roy albeit with a very long walk on bitmac to return home. We opted for the shortcut directly over the top of Bohuntin Hill. I have never approached from this side before and it is no easier from this side. In truth this blip image is the one I had probably planned for today even though I have posted the same view loads of times now. It took much longer to get here today all the way from home on foot. The return route was an awkward choice. The way I came was the most scenic by miles but would take longer. I opted to descend to the Glen Roy road and had a thankless tramp down the bitmac highway to the village with Caley on the lead. It is rare for him to have to ne on the lead for such a long way but it was probably good for him to keep in training in that respect.
It was still a warm dry evening and we had a barbecue. Caley is sleeping well now. My phone app says we did about 14km but much of this was on rough steep ground.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.