Lazy morning

Today I was due in Stansted at midday and my plan had been to get up early, get out of Brighton before the rush hour and find a Starbucks* near the airport to have a coffee and catch up on some work before the meeting.

Surprising I woke up at seven without any hint of a hangover and made myself a coffee. Unlike yesterday morning - sachet of Nescafé, horrible milk - Myhotel had provided several sachets of rather good coffee. I started with the morning blend and went to sit in the window (which you can see in yesterday's photo).

The window looked down into a swimming baths - something I hadn't realised while getting changed the night before - and I sat for a while enjoying my coffee and watching the swimmers. It was time to shower but I decided to make another drink and check my email on my laptop, which I did.

Two hours later I was still there but by then I had no choice but to shower and hit the road. You'll be pleased to know that I reached my meeting with ten minutes to spare :-)

*I'm not sure quite why I love Starbucks so much. I have boycotted Nestlé for well over twenty years (apart from drinking their below par coffee when nothing else is available) and I have stopped visiting Caffè Nero for exactly the same kind of tax avoidance that Starbucks have been blatantly indulging in for years. Yet I buy the Starbucks overpriced mugs as well as their coffee and I love sitting in their coffee shops. I don't know why. I can only apologise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.