Mono Monday #12 ......

Me, myself and I.

........ or in this case, two eyes!!

MonoMonday - self portrait hosted by Paladian - thanks for all the hard work collating these.

Confession: I spent a good three (??) hours the other day having a trial run - and I am so glad I did.

Imagine:
Large mirror off the wall and propped up in the window (to get the natural light on my face),
Camera on tripod next to me but well to the side to avoid getting it in the photo.
Screen of said camera pointing forwards so that I could see (in the mirror) where the "focus square" was.
Lean forward towards the mirror and arm sort of twisted back to press the shutter button. Readjust eye direction.
Click ... click ..... click ..... - over 300 times.
I looked manic! Most of them had my eyes looking like a rabbit in headlights and also looking wildly sideways - my smile looked like it was pasted on .... etc. etc.
Re-think ...... more practise shots. Eventually got it something like right.

Only took me an hour and a half this morning to get "the" right shot - lol!!!!

I think my eyes are my best facial feature but don't really like my mouth so ......
...... post-processing was - a massive crop to get rid of the manic smile, a convert to mono and a soften to enhance what nature gave me. No wrinkle removal, no airbrushing (not that I have the program to do it), a bit of mascara but no make-up ...... so I am actually happy with this - not looking bad for a pensioner (sorry Mum - I know how it makes you feel having a pensioner for a daughter - lol!!) - and I've not aged too much since my birthday sp last year. I suspect mono is more flattering anyway.

In my eyes you can see the reflection of the window frame - and my eyelashes. Odd.


Closeupmacro solution for yesterday ..... only one totally correct answer ............ Muguet was spot on with her guess of a camera battery - it's the spare lithium battery from my D5200 (also it was her birthday yesterday so please pop by and say hello) - very well done Muguet.

The most imaginative answer came from Blast who said it looked like a tube train on an iPhone screen - keep taking the tablets, Carole!!!! :-))

Am so looking forward to seeing everyone's ideas today for MonoMonday.

~ Anni ~


PS If you would like to see what I thought of posting today but didn't as it was slightly outside the MonoMonday rules please take a look > here <



NIKON D5200 : f/2.8 : 1/160" : 50mm : ISO 200 : EV +0.3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.