Paradise

When I'm asked to think about my perfect place I usually imagine a deserted beach with warm blue seas and rustling palm trees. That was more or less how I spent this morning.

Polycarp took me down to the resort hotel to find out about Bako. I've booked for Sunday but expensive as I have to pay double being the only guest on the trip.

Then I walked to the beach Polycarp had recommended, beside the Damai Golf and Country Club. Although the trees are casuarina not palm it was still idyllic. And it was deserted. the water was so warm, I just bobbed around and floated in the sea. It wasn't clear but there didn't seem to be any nasties lurking. And it was hot and sunny - blue skies.

Early afternoon it started to get a bit windy and choppy so I walked back up to the house. It took a good 30 minutes and it was hot, very hot.

Later afternoon the 3 Iranians and I went on the river wildlife trip. There were two small boat loads and we set off down the river. We saw proboscis monkeys, fishing villages, an amazing sunset, one crocodile and fireflies. Fantastic trip. Unfortunately at the end we had to hang around as the bus driver had left the keys where he'd had his dinner!

It was almost 9 before the 4 of us were dropped off at Green Paradise (you've brought friends tonight) and talked about the referendum. I'd had the same discussion yesterday afternoon with Polycarps' architect friends form KL.

A walk back, a beer and then bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.