Today, the jungle. My guide, Ali, picked me up before 8 and we drove to Bako village. It was hot. It's a 20 minute boat ride across to the entrance to the Park. I was wondering if this was going to worth the huge amount I'd paid for this single trip but I reckoned I'll never be back here so I might as well.

Bako is one of the oldest national parks in Sarawak with the widest range of flora and fauna.

We had a stroll around the main site and saw sleeping proboscis and one long tailed macaque. Then we set off on the trek. I think Ali took one look and me and decided I would make it one way but maybe not back so he got me a complimentary boat ride back from pandai kecil.

It was steep climb up to the plateau and I was gald I'd bought so much water. Ali was a great guide and pointed out the trees and the pitchers plants. It was 2.6 kms to the top of the cliff and a group of young Malaysians included me in their group photo - probably amazed an old woman could manage this. i sometimes have to pinch myself - I'm here. doing this.

It was a steep and nasty climb down the cliff on steps, not my favourite. Then we waited on the beach for the boat trip back to the Park HQ. After lunch, with no naught monkeys but a wild boar Ali suggested another short trek but it involved another 400m climb and I decided against it. I know my limits. I spent the time on the foreshore getting to know the couple of proboscis monkeys that were enjoying the leaves in the trees.

Then the boat back to Bako and back to Nanga Damai in time for a swim. Polycarp had his French friends tehre who are going to develop an eco resort on the other side of the peninsula on his land. Very interesting.


He took Pamela and I to another fish restaurant near Buntal. It was good, but expensive and had cats in a cage.

Back home there was more beer and chat. It could have gone on late but I was tired. I'd had a lot of exercise today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.