Red Winged Blackbird

My new camera arrived yesterday... at seven o'clock at night. I waited the entire day so I could sign for it when it came. Don't you love days like that. Sigh. I did get the wash done and had time to do some blipping and computer work while I waited. But I'd have so liked to play with the camera. By the time it came, my brother was here and we were all hanging out together. So not happening.

Then this morning I drove Helena to the shuttle bus to Seattle Airport so she could catch her flight to visit a week with her mother and sister. When I got home it was time to go to the Music Club. We had a good time there listening to Loud Red Bees, a group of double reed players gathered by a pair of players, one oboe and one bassoon, who play together and teach. We had everything from a seven or so year old girl to senior citizens. And they played well. The performance was delightful. By the way, the name of the group is an anagram from "double reeds."

Arvin and I joined our buddies for lunch at Mikanos, a greek restaurant near the airport. I had artichoke chicken and Arvin had a patty melt. It was dinner for us. Quite yummy too, especially their signature french fries. Mmmm.

When we got home I finally got to take a walk with my new camera. It is so new that even though I take RAW photos, the software I use can't process them yet. I'm waiting for the update. So I am shooting RAW plus JPEG for the time being. This is a jpeg with a bit of processing in Lightroom, but very little. I saw quite a few birds today and found that the new camera is really great at automatic focus. Makes me happy. It also takes much faster multiple exposures. Oh boy! I'm delighted.

Just posted more photos from the new camera on Chaikins of Bellingham.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.