Still Camping!

Despite my best efforts at getting boiling hot thrashing Mr K and the children at badminton and snuggling straight into my sleeping bag, I was still freezing last night. My pyjama bottoms kept coming untucked from my socks and rather than sensibly getting up and sorting it out I just spent all night ineffectually trying to tuck them back in. A hot water bottle will be top of my list next time!!
But we woke the sound of a cuckoo which was amazing. And lambs bleating. And no rain. Woohoo!!
Mr K - who seems to be auditioning for a part in an Enid Blyton film! - soon had tea, hot chocolate and sausages ready. With lashings of beans!
Inside the tent this time so it was soon toasty warm!!
Then it was time to pack up. Uuuugghhhhh! I hate that bit!
It seemed to take forever but we eventually squeezed it all back into the car and headed over to Mr D's.
The Little Misses had an amazing few hours in the river. Building dams, throwing rocks in, scrambling up and down the bank, up trees into "caves". It was fabulous. Like turning back the clock and watching me and Mr D as children!
Then Mr K, Mr D and I stayed at home eating peanut butter sandwiches and relaxing (sleeping in Mr K's case!) while Nana and Papa took the Little Misses up to the quarry for another couple of hours of climbing, scrambling, scribbling on slate and apparently teetering along death defying ledges under instructions not to tell Mummy and Daddy!!
What a perfect day! It's a very special spot my brother lives in.
And it was nice to see Harry's final sleeping place in the garden. With a beautiful slate marking the spot and an angel keeping watch. Lovely.
The Little Misses were asleep before we got out of the valley and we had a very peaceful and uneventful journey home.
I'd been expecting awful Bank Holiday traffic but it was fine. We got home at about 9.15pm and by 9.16pm I was in bed. Luxuriating in how warm, comfy and flat our bed is!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.