carliewired

By carliewired

A Gift From the Past

Threads capture a scene
from the 'old country', perhaps
as a reminder

~ carliewired

When I was young I had a neighbour who had been a war bride. She had married a local man and they went on to have a small farm and raise three children. Her name was Gwen Price and she came from England. Sometime in 1946 she stitched this picture in colourful embroidery threads.

When I had finished school, I was soon off on my own to travel Europe. Before I left home in 1970, Mrs. Price kindly gave me the addresses of her two brothers in England. One had a pub in Swindon, the other was a retired postal employee living in Ipswich. I landed in London's Gatwick Airport with my BritRail pass and off I went to discover the British Isles for myself. When I arrived in Ipswich on the train, I walked to the home of Edna and Ron unannounced. Although they had only the vaguest notion who I was, I was greeted warmly and stayed several days with them. Ever afterwards, the room I had stayed in over their garden, was referred to as my room. Thus began a friendship of more than 30 years.

My paternal grandmother gave me a box full of her crocheted items when I left home. I found this picture in the collection of towels and potholders. It was a piece of muslin, folded neatly, with "Gwen Price 1946" written along its edge in pencil. I have no idea how my grandmother might have come to have it but I was quite delighted it was passed along to me. It has reminded me of my first trip to Britain and the wonderful couple I got to know.

I am sorry to say that Gwen, Ron and Edna have all passed from this earth. I was delighted to receive Gwen's picture so beautifully captured under glass on this Mother's Day. I so appreciate the thoughtfulness of my two daughters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.