A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

The Buttertubs.

I want to start by thanking everyone who commented on my 1500th blip, not just for taking the trouble but for the very kind things you said and for the hearts and stars. Reaching 1500 seems amazing but I still love taking photographs and I always have so it hasn't been a chore by any means and as my blip 'mum' Wendles 56 said ' haven't we had fun!'
The more amazing thing to me though is what has developed over those 1500 days and is isn't anything to do with my photography. It has been meeting, both literally and virtually, all you great people. I was very touched by Orchid99's comment ' Thank you for being my blip friend'. Well I want to thank you all for being my blip friends. I know I will continue to take photographs for as long as I can and having bought I Life Membership will do likewise with blip, but it is the friendship that is special. I hope to meet more of you over time but if that's not possible it doesn't really matter because I know you are all out there creating great shots of your part of the world and lives and taking the trouble to comment on mine.
Also a BIG thank you for putting my Lovely Langstrothdale yesterday in the spotlight. The place itself deserves to be!


Today we woke to lovely blue skies in Hawes. We spent the morning in Wensleydale taking in Hardraw for a coffee in the sun and Hardraw Force, which I haven't visited in years.

We then took,the route over the Buttertubs into Swaledale. This route will be the first 'mountain' in the King of the Mountains competition in the Tour De France. You can see the summit of the road behind this shot of Chris peering into one of the Buttertubs.
These are deep chasms created in the limestone by running water. The info board here said that the term Buttertubs is thought to come from people climbing from one valley to the others to get their goods to market in Hawes would store butter in the cool of these chasms so as not to have to carry them home again before the next market if they hadn't sold.
The scenery in Swaledale is different again to Wensley and Wharfedale but punctuated by the Dales' barns and stone walls familiar in the lower dales. The land looks a little harsher and was an area of lead mining in the past.

We stopped for a drink at the Punch Bowl Inn at Low Row where we stayed 3 times pre children in the late '70s. Very different now though not apparent outside with it's 1638 facade. At the time it was the place that accommodated a number of the actors in the early 'All Creatures Great and Small' TV series. Then there were lots of mismatched chairs and sofas with a dog or cat on each and you had to get your shower quick before the hot water ran out, but the food was excellent and very popular with people in the .dales for shooting in the autumn. No doubt they still come but it is a lot posher now but not quite as characterful.

We have had a great couple of unexpected days thanks to a late invitation to join friends in Hawes and we had a most pleasant evening with them with copious amounts of red wine. The weather was a great bonus too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.