Columbine

The genus name Aquilegia is derived from the Latin word for eagle (aquila), because the shape of the flower petals, which are said to resemble an eagle's claw. The common name "columbine" comes from the Latin for "dove", due to the resemblance of the inverted flower to five doves clustered together. – Wikipedia

I was happily surprised to see the plant in full bloom today as I walked around the gardens this afternoon. My mother used to have these in her garden when I was growing up and they always amazed me. I loved that they seemed so delicate and they colors were magnificent. This plant is just one of the many shades they come in. I’m tempted to buy more in different colors since they seem to do so well in this part of the garden.
Today started out ok with a mix of sun and clouds but it got cool and damp as the day went on. It looks like rain is on the way. I’m hoping things warm up by the weekend so I can get back in the pool for more swimming.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.