The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Summer Pastures

The Rodborough and Minchinhampton 'transhumance' took place today. Local people have ancient 'commoners' rights' to graze their cattle on the two commons, and today the cattle were let loose. We did not see their release, but drove up later in the afternoon, and found the cows still bunched close together, yet wandering over a wide area, grazing on buttercup-studded grass.

The first herd we encountered was enormous, but they soon left us and we found a fold of highland cattle, including several youngsters. I didn't have my 'sport' setting on and they would keep moving, so I don't have any good cow pictures. But this is slightly cute, so I am going to blip it ... Some of the grass on the commons is quite rough, so it is usual to see herds of belted Galloways or highland cattle grazing, keeping the scrub cropped.

There used to be a fold of Highland cattle on the shore opposite my mother's house in Argyll, but I don't see them anymore. I am told the owner died. I feel good to know we have an extremely local herd right here on our commons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.