Port Hills

Another early morning on the Port Hills with my friend Diana. My foot felt better going down hill than it did last week.

We took a final steep track with a lot of slip damage from the recent heavy rain events. That was certainly a test, no open tussock lands like here. Instead mud, fallen trees to clamber over or around, narrow guts with slippery rocks and and even more slippery stream to cross and re-cross. Then a climb back up to get to the Mt Vernon track again and back to the car.

I think we took 2.5 hours. Maybe a little more time up there having small adventures than I'd intended.

Just to complicate my life further, it was then a trip to the plant nursery for me. Then home with a boot and back seat full of plants and mulch and stuff. Oh, and the cuttings I'd gathered from a mutual friend's garden near the end of our walk.

The upshot was I planted and sorted the Roma Garden. I feel good about that. It's happened later than I'd hoped but when I come home and to see how my repairs are progressing, I'll look out onto a tranquil garden. I know inside will look far from tranquil, especially the inside of the the back wall.

Being a woman on a mission, I also finished sorting old photos. What I've kept is now packed. Yes, I boxed most of the loft. Only some art canvases to bubble wrap up there.

By dusk we'd returned the exercycle I borrowed to help my foot rehab. That gives me some more space downstairs.

Tomorrow I'll tackle the front garden, get it planted out and cut back the last of the runner beans. I'll finishing the bit of sorting left to to do my in bedroom, then I'll pack the spare room. I think I'll muck around with test pots too. In my timeline it's time to sort colours for walls and ceilings.

Come to think of it, I'm quite enjoying sitting on the couch. Funny that ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.