Blue Jay ballet

My morning walk in the park was pleasant, but I didn't get any blips to share. Luckily, late in the afternoon, the action at our backyard Bistro was much more productive. A young blue jay and a graceful hummingbird both appeared to be auditioning for the Backyard Ballet as each one swooped in for a turn at the Bistro. The hummingbird was ethereal and graceful as she hovered around the feeder, while the jay was amazingly athletic in his attempts to get a firm grasp on the pole so he could nibble at the suet cake. He refused to give up, returning repeated to try a better grip on the pole. It was a tough decision, but I finally settled on the blue jay as the winner of the audition. You can see the hummer here. Take a look and let me know if you agree with my decision. No matter which one was the winner, watching them was great fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.