Wanaka - by night

A quiet peaceful night in Wanaka, diners were inside out of the chill of the evening air while a few hearty souls further down the street were sitting out under heaters. A slight breeze was catching the lake as waves lapped the shore out in the darkness behind us.

A morning tea blipmeet between hubby and I and A Cycling Granny and Tussock Tales took place along this street, gosh it was lovely to meet them both. We chatted for a good couple of hours over a hot cuppa, thank you both for your pointers on the area and your friendly conversation, it was wonderful to meet you both.

Later in the day I had the upmost pleasure of actually meeting the delightful Tussock. She gave us a glorious chorus as I rung the door bell and greeted us with such enthusiasm, what a wonderful welcome!  I know my mum walkingS would've made such a fuss of you Tussock :)

The rest of the day hubby and I went to Albert Town and walked beside the Clutha River, taking time to find and admire a stone cottage which was the original cookhouse of the Wanaka Station. It is possible that hubby's Great Great Grandfather who was a stonemason and buried in Skipper's Canyon cemetery helped build this cottage. Unfortunately there is no actual documentation but the time line is right, so until we get the hard evidence it is just a theory.

I'm really enjoying the amazing weather patterns here in Wanaka. Take a look at the lake today - what a beauty!

I'm thrilled by all the wonderful stars, hearts and lovely words left as I continue to be on holiday - thank you all so much, I will reply when I return home.

Time I called it a night, another great day on holiday :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.