UNLUCKY OR BLESSED?

This is Mark, the Manager of the Boscombe branch of Sainsbury's and our paths crossed this morning. After putting up my Post-It today in the store today, as I didn't think we would be going out again, because it was lashing down with rain, I got to the till with my trolley to find that I had spent £26.20 but had a voucher in my purse that gave me £4.50 off if I spent £30. Apologising profusely to the two people in the queue behind me, I ran around, like a headless chicken, trying to find something to the value of £3.80.

I spied a £25 iTunes voucher that had £5 off and with an extra £4.50 that seemed like a bargain - but no, these weren't in the offer - so back to running around and apologising some more.

It was a bit like a trolley-dash, but I eventually found two pizzas that were 2 for £4, so decided that would do - only to find when I got back to the till, and these had been added to my shopping, that the voucher had run out on the 19th May!!!

Mark came over and confirmed that it was too late and said it was my unlucky day - to which I retorted "No it's not, I can afford to buy food, I am fit and healthy, so actually I'm blessed!" He said that was a good way to look at it, and I saw a good blip opportunity as I chatted with him, so here he is - I did tell him that he was likely to be my "blip" for the day, explained about blipping and he was quite happy to pose for the camera.

I choose to see this incident as one that enabled me to engage in conversation with the man who served me on the till, the two people in the queue behind me and Mark - worth at least £4.50!!

“The problem that we have with a victim mentality
is that we forget to see the blessings of the day.
Because of this, our spirit is poisoned instead of nourished.”
Steve Maraboli


P.S. The sun has now come out and we have wall-to-wall blue sky, so even more blessed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.