KEEPING MY EYES ABOVE THE WAVES

What do you do when you wake just before 6.30 in the morning, the wind is howling, the rain is lashing down and the waves are crashing onto the beach and around the pier?

You might go walking, and I would have done when I was younger, but not today - Mr. HCB had already got up, so I snuggled back down under the duvet, pulled it up over my head and tried to block out the noise of the wind and rain.

I did take some photographs though - don't all blippers take their cameras to bed? This one was taken looking through the window with the rain still lashing down so it does look as if the pier has concertina-ed, but it's still standing and looks quite firm despite the awful weather.

I did send a photograph to a friend in Guernsey and said how glad I was that I wasn't on a ferry today, and daresay she was too - and she did agree.

So it looks as if it will be a "staying in" day today - maybe a chance to get on with some Family History research, if I can get Mr. HCB off the computer - I knew buying that Mahjong game for my laptop could prove difficult!

I'm not sure who recommended this beautiful song Oceans to me (I think it was Kelly) but it really spoke to me and contains these words that I know will resonate with many friends at the moment:

I will call upon your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in your embrace
For I am yours and you are mine

Your grace abounds in deepest waters
Your sovereign hand
Will be my guide
Where feet may fail and fear surrounds me
You've never failed and you won't start now

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.