Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Soothing Purple

I need the soothing sight of something purple. This is Daniel Deronda. So appropriate as I, and the person it is for. both have a grandson called Daniel!

What should have been a great day just turned on me and filled me with rage. It was Saturday so the three of us went and cleaned the holiday lodge, then filled in a bit of time before visiting The Mother. When we got onto the ward she announced she was ready to go home. She had known since 7.30pm last night that she could leave at 8.30am this morning.

No-one told me.

I didn't bring her wheelchair, I didn't bring her blanket. I didn't bring her coat. I didn't bring her suitcase. I arrived over 6 hours later than I should.

I was so enraged that the ward staff allowed a weak 86 year-old to say she would tell me when I came to visit, instead of making sure I came promptly with everything to give her a comfortable discharge. She is very deaf, even with hearing aids, she cannot use those bed-side phones. Also her discharge letter described an operation she hadn't had.

The Mother says she isn't feeling like the person who went into hospital on Wednesday. No wonder! She has now had 3 days of many hours of nil-by-mouth, just in case she needed an op and she didn't eat her hospital lunch today.

I should be so happy she is safely home, so why do I want to cry?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.