Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Road closed due to flood!

So it persisted all night and was still doing so when we went to collect Jim from the station. Tent down and packed in car it was decided I would ride home as we were nearly on sustrans route 12 which goes through Stevenage. Hmm, not particularly directly and not all on road and certainly not well signed as I found when I realised I was about to hit the A1 having gone the wrong way.

Off road sections at the beginning were horrid due to the amount of rain, 75mins to go 10.5 miles says it all. Once on tarmac I faired better, although I had to navigate this ford, well I used the bridge, but the road was actually shut.

Two miles from Shefford I got a puncture and I yhought better of fighting with the tyre and rang for back up. I made it to Shefford, having stopped twice to pump up the tyre, a total of 33miles in the wind and rain. Not too bad for a novice cyclist. Only another 30 to go before the end of July and my bike ride for Breakthrough Breast cancer. Hoping for better weather that day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.